Awards & Honors

Each year the Entomological Society of America and the Entomological Society of America Certification Corporation provide annual honors and awards to recognize scientists, educators, and students, who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to entomology.


Below is a list of the current awards that are being offered.  For additional information on how to nominate someone click on the award name.  To see an overview list of the awards, view the Awards Eligibility Grid.

ESA's Branches also offer a variety of awards for Branch members. For more information on Branch awards, visit ESA's Awards Branches page and select your Branch.

2023 Awards Deadlines
  • Honorary Member Awards Monday April 17, 2023
  • Founders' Memorial Award - Monday April 17, 2023
  • Fellows - Monday April 17, 2023
  • Professional Awards, Early Career Professional Awards, and Student Awards - Thursday June 1, 2023
  • Certification Corporation Awards - Thursday June 1, 2023


Section Award
Deadline - June 1st Annually - Candidates must be enrolled as an undergraduate student (not necessarily in an entomology departments) at the time of nomination.
Section Award
Deadline - May 8th - The nominee must be an ESA student member affiliated with the MUVE Section at the time the award is received.
Section Award
This award recognizes outstanding research by individuals who have recently completed a master's thesis in arthropod morphology, systematics, taxonomy, or evolution.
Section Award
This award recognizes an early professional member of the MUVE section of ESA who has demonstrated excellence in research, extension, teaching and/or outreach.