SysEB Richard Fall Memorial Internship sponsored by BioQuip Products

With the unfortunate closing of Bio-Quip, this award has been permanently discontinued.

The purpose of the Richard Fall Memorial Internship is to provide undergraduate students with hands-on experience working in and with established entomological collections in North America. Applicants may either (1) propose their own project at an entomological collection of their choice or (2) choose from internships submitted by sponsoring institutions. The award amount of $2,000 is given directly to the student, and is meant to offset living and travel expenses. It is not intended to pay for research expenses.

Application-Proposed Projects
Application Requirements
Evaluation Criteria
Previous Award Winners


To be eligible for the internship, the student must meet the following criteria:

  • Must be an undergraduate enrolled at an accredited institution in the United States, Canada, or Mexico
  • Must have completed at least one year of classes by June of the application year
  • Must have a minimum GPA of 2.75
  • Have not previously received the Richard Fall Internship

Applicant-Proposed Projects

The project should be taxonomically based, preferably eight weeks in duration, physically based at an entomological collection, and be specimen based. Projects that are primarily field work, molecular work, databasing, or photography will not be considered (e.g., collection management due to reclassification of an arthropod group).

Application Requirements

Application packets must include the following:

  • Personal statement outlining the applicant’s entomological interests and career goals, including how the proposed internship will facilitate reaching those goals (2-page maximum)
  • An outline of the proposed project, including a statement that it has been endorsed by the chosen entomological collection (1-page maximum)
  • Two letters of reference
  • Current academic transcripts

Evaluation Criteria

Proposals are competitively evaluated based on the following factors:

  • Personal statement and future potential as an entomologist
  • Feasibility and merit of the proposed project
  • Strength of academic record
  • Strength of letters of reference

Ver en español

Previous Award Winners

2021 No Award Given
2020 Rachel Smith, University of Kansas
2019 Madeline McMullen, Iowa State University


Want to learn more? See other content tagged with