Eastern Branch Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension

This award recognizes an Eastern Branch member for outstanding contributions in the area of extension. The winner of this award will be recognized at the Eastern Branch Meeting and will be submitted to the ESA Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension as the Branch nominee for that year. The Eastern Branch committee chair will notify all candidates and their nominators with the results of their nomination approximately two months after the nomination submission deadline. 

Nomination Requirements
Evaluation Criteria
Previous Winners
Submit a Nomination


The nominee must be a current ESA member of the Eastern Branch, and must have demonstrated excellent performance through program creativity, impact, achievement, and delivery. NOTE: Members can only submit in one Branch each year.

Nomination Requirements

  • CV-Related Items: Nominators must provide a CV which includes the below sections. View a full listing of what should be included in each of the sections.
    • Section 1 - Background Information
    • Section 4 - Extension/ Outreach
    • Section 5 - Service
  • Other Items:
    • Letter of nomination that provides a brief explanation of how the individual excelled in performing his/her duties, including innovations in training, programs, and methods
    • Up to three letters of endorsement from professional colleagues and clientele

Evaluation Criteria

Nominees/candidates will be judged using the following criteria for a total of 100 points:

  • Professional Background (60 points total)
    • Leadership and participation in professional activities (10)
    • Honors, awards, achievements, and recognition (7)
    • Special assignments and committee activities (10)
    • Service outside of extension, including community activities (7)
    • Grantsmanship (8)
    • Recommendation of colleagues, peer groups, etc. (8)
    • Publications (10)
  • Program Management (40 points total)
    • Creativity and innovation of program's concept (8)
    • Development, educational strategy (8)
    • Implementation, including publications (8)
    • Diversity of program's delivery (8)
    • Evidence of program's impact (8)


Any candidate nominated, but not selected, may be re-nominated no more than two times within the two-year period after his/her initial submission. Nomination packages will be retained for two years by the awards administrator. Nominators must send a letter of re-nomination to the awards administrator by the nomination deadline above. Previously submitted documentation will be used for the evaluation process unless the nominator submits new or updated documents. The re-nomination e-mail must contain this additional documentation. New or updated documents must follow the electronic submission requirements noted above. 



Nomination packages must be received by December 15th Annually at 11:59 (EST)

Eastern Branch Distinguished Achievement Award in Extension Submission Site

Want to learn more? See other content tagged with